Corefinder Design Digest #15: Use, Part Twos

This material was posted on patreon by Legendary Games

To continue talking about use actions, the ones we previewed last time were focused on objects, as most use actions are. However, there are some instances when you need to interact with another creature but in a way that is mostly like working with an object, and for those kinds of situations, we have the following use actions. Most of these actions are pretty simple and straightforward, with one big exception: carrying something or someone. It’s always been a weird part of the rules, so we’ve endeavored to make it clear how it should work. 

________________________________________________________________________________

Carry: You spend a portion of your effort carrying a heavy and/or bulky object (one which exceeds your light load in weight or is your size or larger). You must have a free hand to carry the object in question (or both hands at the GM’s discretion for very large or heavy objects), and you are encumbered while carrying it. You continue carrying the object until the beginning of your next turn (at which point you can use the Carry action again to continue carrying it).

Carrying an Ally: You also can use this action to Carry an ally along with you as if it were an object. In addition to the rules above, you and your ally share each other’s space, using the space and size of the larger creature if you are of different sizes. You are encumbered while carrying an ally unless they are least two sizes smaller than you.

While being carried, your ally moves with you, cannot take move actions, and is flat-footed.

If your ally being carried has both hands free, they can use the Carry action to hold onto you rather than you using one free hand and the Carry action to hold onto them.

Whomever is using the Carry action can let loose their hold on their ally as a free action on their turn. However, if you attempt to drop an ally and they do not wish to let go, they can use the Grab On reaction to hold onto you, even if they already have used their reaction for that round. They can be forced away from you by combat maneuvers or other effects that force them to move and cannot use the Grab On reaction in this situation.

Being carried does not count as being mounted for the purpose of mounted combat.

Control a Mount: Ordinary riding does not require any action. You only need to use this action if your mount is frightened or impaired in some way, or to encourage it to do something it would not normally do.

Control a Vehicle: Driving a wagon, car, or other vehicle requires some focus and attention. Performing unusual stunts or maneuvers may take more actions.

Mount or Dismount: You climb onto or off of a mount or get into or out of a vehicle. If that vehicle has doors, you must take an additional use action to open or close that door.

Touch an Adjacent Ally: If you need to signal an ally, let them know where you are, deliver a non-harmful effect that requires you to touch them, or perform a similar task, you can do that with this action.

CHECK IT OUT

This is an affiliate post