Corefinder Design Digest #32: Putting Together the Pieces

This material was posted on patreon by Legendary Games

Bard: I cast “rage” on the Antipaladin’s intelligent magic sword.

DM: …Okay, you’ve succeeded in making it hate you more.

Bard: Great! The sword’s metal weakens and it now has the fragile weapon quality!

DM: What? How’s that?

Bard: Because the sword just lost its temper!

*rim shot*

Ahhh, good times. Meanwhile, speaking of making sure you handle the rules, there are always multiple layers in making combat maneuvers work in a game, so as always we endeavor to condense and streamline them to make sure everything works in a clear and easy-to-follow way. 

__________________________________________________________________________________

Combat Maneuver Actions

Each maneuver requires a specific type of action to use, as noted below.

Attack: This maneuver can be used as part of any action that allows you to make an attack, including the Attack, Charge, Dual Attack, or Full Attack standard actions or the Attack of Opportunity reaction. It takes the place of one attack granted by that action. Any attack roll penalties from the Dual Attack or Full Attack actions also apply to your CMB. In addition, when using a weapon in one of your hands and making a Dual Attack, you are considered to be using only one hand to perform a maneuver, which may result in a penalty on your CMB.

Move: This maneuver requires a move action.

Social: This maneuver targets your SMD rather than your CMD. In addition, damage dealt by this maneuver affects your SHP.

Standard: This maneuver requires a standard action.

Use: This maneuver requires a use action.

Movement and Maneuvers: Some maneuvers include some amount of movement as part of the maneuver. This movement does not provoke attacks of opportunity from the target of your maneuver; however, unless otherwise noted, your movement during a maneuver provokes attacks of opportunity from other creatures that threaten you during the course of your movement.

If you force your target to move as part of your maneuver, their movement is considered involuntary and does not provoke attacks of opportunity unless explicitly stated elsewhere.

Stopping Movement: While in most cases you can freely intermix movement and attacks or other actions, some maneuvers prevent or restrict further movement, either limiting your own movement (such as when you grapple someone) or your target’s (such as knocking an opponent prone or to a kneeling position).

Size Limitations: Due to the limitations of sheer size and mass, some maneuvers are very difficult to perform against creatures more than one size larger than you, with a -5 penalty to your CMB for every additional size category beyond that limit.

CHECK IT OUT

This is an affiliate post